#ThingsOnlyChristianWomenHear


It’s been a couple of days now that tweets with the hashtag have been going strong on twitter.

It is everything from saddening to maddening that this is still something that has to be said and mentioned, and even said loudly today. There are so many hurtful and shameful statements if you go to that hashtag and read – and some are just plain stupid.

Unfortunately as well, I also had quite a few “pearls” to add from my past:

And the worst was probably this one. As I said in a previous blogpost, I had been abused from age 4 on, and also been raped as a teen, and later again as a young adult. As a teen, I once heard someone talk about abuse, and finally decided to open up, after all those years. It was already difficult enough. After what seemed like a long silence, I was brought to some leaders who told me something about purity, and

You can imagine how painful that was.

Between this, and other things that I heard, and that happened to me and others, I walked away from church, Bible and faith for some time. Or, at least, I tried to. The Good News had become Bad News for me. Asking questions was synonymous with being rebellious. Sometimes I’d still try to read the Bible, but too many painful memories and voices would come up with whatever I’d try to read. The christians, the church who had done that to me had been more or less the only church I had known for a long time.

Until one day I met some who were different, and showed me that the Good News could indeed be, Good News. From there on, it was a long journey of healing, and having the great joy, priviledge and blessing of finding a wonderful church full of wonderful supportive people who accepted me as a person, with my flaws, my history, and who valued my gifts and helped me get through my theology studies. There, I was finally consecrated the first female preacher of that church – and now serve as, again the first woman preacher, in another church.

It is my hope and my prayer that one day, and one day soon, we won’t need the hashtag any more. With the grace of God, the church can change. When the Spirit moves, and hearts are open, anything is possible. I want a better church, a better world for my daughter – and not only for her, but for everybody. My vision for the Church is that of a place where everybody is welcome, loved and appreciated – and their gifts encouraged and supported, women and men, and nobody is ridiculed or belittled for any kind of reason. A church where there is There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” (Galatians 3:28)

One thought on “#ThingsOnlyChristianWomenHear

Leave a Reply

