Dig in!


Part of my journey to better health includes better eating. After getting my Rheumatoid Arthritis diagnosis, I started to eat more consciously, and then I quietly let my good habits slip away again – you know, the temptations of sweets and all the other things. After all, I live in Switzerland. Swiss chocolate, anyone?

But it is really worth making the effort, for various reasons:

  • It is generally more healthy overall
  • It helps controlling inflammation
  • It helps controlling weight in a healthy way
  • You are more conscious of what you eat
  • Bonus: since I enjoy cooking, it is fun!

Of course, I still eat some chocolate, but a lot less; I prefer dark over milk chocolate (less sugar; and fair trade over conventional); I try to cut out bad fats, processed food (not that I’ve ever eaten a lot of them, I’ve always preferred cooking things on my own, cutting down on red meat and meat in general (I eat meat generally once a week, and fish once a week, sometimes twice; for meat, I usually eat skinless chicken or white turkey meat); no sausages and such… Also, since I’m intolerant, I avoid lactose and wheat.

Add a kosher twist to that and out comes that I try to get creative and go with the seasons as far as fruit and veggies go, and try out new things.

So here’s today’s recipe, a vegan variation of a traditional swiss dish, the “Papet Vaudois”.

img_20170118_140256_347_sm

Per person, you’ll need:

350g leeks

115g potatoes

25ml white wine

100ml vegetable stock

50ml soy cream

Cut the leeks into fine rings, peel the potatoes and cut them into cubes. Put all into pot or saucepan together with the wine and vegetable broth and let it cook for 15 minutes. Reduce the heat, add the soy cream and let simmer for 20 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste, a bit of dried garlic if you wish – Bon appétit!

Per person, approx: 250 cals. I’m not a health professional! Just someone who enjoys food…

Leave a Reply

